2014 Penalty Free Sweepstakes, News (Cambridge Minor Hockey)


News Article
News Article Image
Dec 05, 2013 | Cheryl Podger | 1563 views
2014 Penalty Free Sweepstakes
The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario, in partnership with its member associations and program sponsors, is pleased to announce the official launch of the 2014 Penalty Free Sweepstakes contest.  The Sweepstakes is a provincial safety initiative created to foster fair play, skills, safety and sportsmanship in amateur hockey throughout Ontario.

The Penalty Free Sweepstakes encourages and rewards amateur hockey teams for staying out of the penalty box and has generated a positive response from all ages and levels of amateur hockey in Ontario.  Statistics indicate that teams who have entered the contest have either won or tied their games, demonstrating that fair play and good sportsmanship is not only rewarding but can substantially increase the chance of being successful on the ice.

To further promote the Sweepstakes, the 2014 Penalty Free Most Valuable Player Award will be held in conjunction with the Sweepstakes prize draw.  The MVP Award will recognize eleven individual players who embody the values of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes – skills, safety and sportsmanship. 

A total of 17 sponsorship partners will be supporting this year’s initiative by contributing valuable prizes to amateur hockey teams in Ontario that play a penalty free game during the contest period.  

The Penalty Free Sweepstakes is supported by former NHL and Team Canada member Paul Henderson, Hockey Night in Canada host Ron MacLean and former Women’s National/Olympic team member and 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame Inductee Geraldine Heaney. 

OFFICIAL ENTRY FORM for the 2014 Penalty Free Sweepstakes.




How does a team qualify?
Any amateur hockey team in Ontario can qualify by playing a penalty-free game within the province of Ontario during the contest period (December 1, 2013 to January 31, 2014).  If one team plays an entire penalty free game, that team qualifies. If both teams play penalty free then both teams qualify. All games must be refereed by qualified officials and the game sheet must be signed by at least one of the officials. All entries are subject to verification by the Penalty Free Sweepstakes Committee.  A team may submit an entry for every penalty free game they play during the contest period.  All league, exhibition, tournament and playoff games played penalty free during the contest period may qualify. Inter-squad and novelty games do not qualify.

How are the winning teams chosen?
Sweepstakes winners will be drawn at random from the eligible entries received. The draw will be conducted on Friday February 7, 2014 at the offices of the Hockey Development Centre for Ontario (HDCO). Winning teams will be notified within fourteen days of the draw if the team has won a Sweepstakes prize through their team contact. 

How does a team enter?
o enter, simply complete an Official Entry form and send it, along with a copy of the game sheet signed by a qualified official, to the HDCO office.  Entry forms can be downloaded from the HDCO Web site at www.hdco.on.ca or by contacting the HDCO office.  Eligible entries must be received by 4:00 pm Monday February 3, 2014 to be eligible for the prize draw.